Let’s Go Out to Eat

Place: Cafe Minerva
Date/Time: Wednesday 6pm
Rez? Nope, just walked up to the bar.

Image

Yesterday, on my way to an acting class, I happened to pass by the well loved west village cafe, Cafe Minerva. This is the kind of place you would see in a great romance film, the kind of place you would imagine running into your future love. The music upbeat, air fresh and savory, laid back yet dressed up enough for a first date or for inspiring a a first novel. The patrons attractive and diverse, lots of artists and mostly locals.

I had heard of this place before but had never been, but you could never tell, as soon as I walked in a friendly bartender/barista welcomed me as I took a seat at the bar. Confused as to whether they served more than coffee I immediately noticed a fellow young woman sipping a glass of wine while writing in her notebook. Since I had come to do the same thing I quickly asked for whatever she was having… A $9.50 glass of the med-full bodied Marchesi di Barolo Barbera di Monferrato ’08 which I must saw was the perfect way to quell my work day nerves. Although I didn’t have time to grab any food. I can say the vibe alone was enough to come back again and again,  if nothing more than for a glass of wine, engaging conversation and inspiration. Vibe, you can’t fake… a place either has a good one or not… and it’s simply something that just is… with no reason that any one can put their finger on. I ALWAYS say, its all about ambiance… if I don’t like the way it feels when I walk in (consists of lighting, style, staff, patrons, smells and all around good energy) I will leave before I even try the fare. So yes, Cafe Minerva gets an A for ambience, staff friendliness and a perfect wine recommendation for a first visit… Food, I don’t know, but I will be back soon so I will def share! Truth be told I liked this place so much, Im surprised I shared it with you guys, as I usually like to keep cute places like this to myself!! Ok so I didn’t exactly “go out to eat” at Cafe Minerva but check back, and I will be sure to share my thoughts on my food experience as well (which I am optimistic about)… in the mean time, if you have tried the food please let me know what you think! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Let’s Go Out to Eat

  1. HI Millana, nice to see and hear from you. I got to “know” you a little through Taren’s youtube channel. I was wondering what happened to you and so I just started typing your name in youtube and found you have a website. It’s nice. Are you still friends with Taren? It seems as if you’ve been very busy with work and all. Congrats!

    This cafe sounds wonderful. Have to check it out one of these days 🙂

  2. Pingback: Marchesi Barolo Barbera

Leave a Reply

